History of IPL (Indian Premier League)

Since 2008, India has hosted the Indian Premier League (IPL), a professional Twenty20 cricket tournament. Every year, it takes place in India in the months of April and May. The BCCI (Board of Cricket Council of India) established this cricket competition in 2007. Since then, it has been held annually.

Lalit Modi, the league’s creator, and the previous commissioner is recognized as the father of the IPL. It is acknowledged as the most-watched athletic event worldwide.

IPL was the first athletic event to have a live YouTube broadcast in 2010. The IPL has a massive global following.

Teams & IPL Franchise

Teams from major Indian cities, including Mumbai, Bangalore, Chennai, Delhi, Pune, Punjab, Kolkata, Kochi, Rajasthan, and Hyderabad, will compete in this important cricketing tournament.

There should be seven Indian players and four international players on each squad. This has been the main guideline during all of these years. All international cricket players from different nations will be mixed in with native and foreign Indian players. Every year, before the commencement of the IPL, an auction is used to perform this shuffle.

The players will participate in an auction and be chosen by a particular club. The chosen player will compete for the auctioned team for the contract duration.

In the auction, some teams choose to keep their top players every year. Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians are the most well-liked sports teams overall.

In the last 10 IPL seasons, these two teams have shared five championships. These teams included legendary players like Sachin Tendulkar, Ricky Ponting, and MS Dhoni.

The teams that have ever competed in the IPL’s history are listed here, along with each year’s IPL champions.

TeamTitle Winner
Chennai Super Kings2010, 2011
Mumbai Indians2013, 2015, 2017
Delhi Dare Devils
Pune Warriors – Rising Pune Super Giants
Kochi Tuskers
Sunrisers Hyderabad – Deccan charges Hyderabad2009, 2016
Royal Challengers Bangalore
Kolkata Knight Riders2012, 2014
Rajasthan Royals2008
Kings XI Punjab

Format of the game

It is an extremely condensed version of the game that lasts for only four hours. Eight teams will compete against one another in the league stages, with the top two teams competing for the prestigious IPL championship. Each team will play between 8 and 16 games throughout the league stages, which contain the most games.

Orange cap

The player with the most runs scored so far this season will receive the orange cap, which is a unique cap. This cap rolls around. The right to wear this cap will go to the player with the most runs now. At the end of the competition, the person carrying the hat will get unique awards.

Purple cap

The top wicket-taker in the competition receives the purple cap, which has the same privileges as the orange cap.


Even though the IPL has been a popular sporting event in India, it also has a darker side. During the first two seasons of the IPL, Mr. Lalit Modi, the previous chairman, perpetrated a huge fraud. He was then let go.

Due to their involvement in match-fixing, the two biggest teams and champions, Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals were suspended for two years in 2015.

A few well-known athletes, including Sreesanth, had fallen prey to bookmakers who had engaged in match-fixing. It is important to take note of Sreesanth’s lifelong cricket-playing ban.

Over the previous 10 years, there have been many ups and downs for this renowned cricket competition. All IPL fans are anticipating the upcoming 11th edition of the tournament.

Let’s hope the IPL season this year is better and free of match-fixing.

IPL 2023 Date, And Released Players List of All 10 Teams

The next season of the Indian Premier League is expected to begin in March. It is about time that the IPL 2023 mini-auction preparations get going now that the T20 World Cup 2022 is halfway through.

We already know that Kochi, India, is expected to host the mini-auction for the IPL 2023 on December 23, 2022. Although nothing has been announced as of yet, some people think that the Auction may once again take place in Bengaluru, like it did the previous year.

Since there won’t be a mega auction, we don’t anticipate any significant changes to the power relations between the teams. Every year, some significant trades will be made, but each squad’s fundamental makeup will stay the same.

By November 15, all franchises must send the board their list of retained players. Before the new season, all 10 clubs must provide the list of players they will release, and that is what we will be discussing in this article. The players that the 10 clubs are speculated to release before the IPL 2023 season are included in the following list.

  • Chennai Super Kings: Prashant Solanki, Subhranshu Senapati, K Bhagath Varma, Matheesha Pathirana, Chris Jordan, Narayan Jagadeesan, C Hari Nishaanth.
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore: Chama Milind, Aneeshwar Gautam, David Willey, Luvnith Sisodia, Siddharth Kaul, Akash Deep, Karn Sharma.
  • Mumbai Indians: Aryan Juyal, Rahul Buddhi, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohd. Arshad Khan, Akash Madhwal, Kumar Kartikeya Singh, Tymal Mills, Murugan Ashwin, Mayank Markande, Sanjay Yadav, Hrithik Shokeen.
  • Rajasthan Royals: Shubham Garhwal, Kuldeep Sen, Kuldip Yadav, Tejas Baroka, Dhruv Jurel, Anunay Singh.
  • Delhi Capitals: Mandeep Singh, Pravin Dubey, Ripal Patel, Lalit Yadav.
  • Kolkata Knight Riders: Abhijeet Tomar, Harshit Rana, Aman Khan, Anukul Roy, Rasikh Dar, Ashok Sharma, Ramesh Kumar.
  • Punjab Kings: Mayank Agarwal, Nathan Ellis, Odean Smith, Shahrukh Khan, Prabhsimran Singh.
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad: Fazalhaq Farooqi, Ravikumar Samarth, Shreyas Gopal, Vishnu Vinod, Shushant Mishra, Shashank Singh.
  • Lucknow Super Giants: Karan Sharma, Ankit Rajpoot, Mayank Yadav, Shahbaz Nadeem.
  • Gujarat Titans: Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Pradeep Sangwan, Gurkeerat Mann Singh, Jayant Yadav, Noor Ahmad.

IPL VS PSL which league is more popular?

IPL (Indian Premier League) and PSL (Pakistan Super League) are both popular T20 cricket leagues, but the popularity of each league depends on various factors.

In terms of viewership and revenue, IPL is more popular than PSL. IPL has a larger fanbase and higher viewership not just in India, but also in other countries. IPL also generates more revenue through sponsorships and media rights.

However, PSL has a significant following in Pakistan and some other cricket-playing nations. PSL has helped in reviving cricket in Pakistan and has given a platform for local talent to showcase their skills. PSL has also gained attention from international players and coaches.

Overall, IPL is considered more popular and has a larger global reach compared to PSL. However, both leagues have their unique strengths and appeal to their respective audiences.

Visit for more: Poha Talks

Leave a Reply